jason oke

If you’re not in awe, you’re not paying attention.

Post PSFK

Last week’s PSFK conference was great.

Once again, I remain convinced that the real value in conferences lies in the social value they create. I mean to take nothing away from the speakers and content – there was lots of inspiring stuff.

But the best parts always seem to be in the breaks and drinks and little moments, catching up with some of my favourite people. What has struck me at the last few conferences and events I’ve been to is that in an age where many people already share their ideas and presentations, I find the most value comes in the things that can’t be replicated and disseminated online: the live conversations, the putting faces to names, the late night conspiratorial drinks, and generally the injection of some physicality and tangibility into the digital vagueness that defines much of life in the social web.

Seth has some similar, but probably more coherent ruminations on the theme.

Props to Piers for organizing, to Noah, Seth, and Leland for hanging out and getting me drunk, to Faris for getting me really drunk, and Adrian, Mike, Vivian, Lee, and I’m sure a few other people I’m forgetting for good conversations.

Filed under: Interestingness, People, planning, Social networks

2 Responses

  1. Faris says:

    anytime brother, anytime ;)

  2. El Gaffney says:

    indeed. thanks for the shout-out. i was drunk when i wrote it…and sitting in the american girl cafe.

Leave a Reply

